What's new

1 internet connection 2 private LANs article

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

sirshambling

Occasional Visitor
I found this article very interesting and I hope it will be the way to implement what I'm trying to achieve - but I have one or two questions which I hope somebody here will help me with before I try it out. I'm a newbie here so if these questions are naive/uninformed please excuse me!

I have a home network running both wired and wireless devices quite happily. But as these devices run on different speeds the network must default to the slowest device. So what I'd like to do is separate out the slow devices and put them in a separate network leaving the quicker devices to take advantage of my very quick broadband internet connection.

I envisage Network A consisting of a wireless radio and a wireless picture frame running at g/B speed. Network B would consist of 4 PCs connected by either cables or by wireless running at n speed.

My questions are:-

1. Would this work?
2. Can my main PC be a part of both networks via its 2 ethernet ports?
3. If so how do I configure the two network connections (I'm running Vista) so that it only uses the n speed connection to access the internet?

Thanks for reading this. John.

Draytek

Hello,

One possibility is to use a single router that provides port-based virtual LANs i.e. that allows you to assign each individual ethernet port to a different VLAN.

I have used Draytek routers for this for several years and they do indeed work quite well for that.

You can mix and match the assignment of VLANs to ports, both for the wired and the wireless section.

HIH

Lnz

But as these devices run on different speeds the network must default to the slowest device.