What's new

AC87R Wireless/General Help

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Dawgdoc

New Around Here
Hello all.

I have an Asus AC87R router, and I both need help with a specific issue, as well as general help with this router.

Although I am a very tech savvy and computer hardware savvy individual, Im exceptionally ignorant when it comes to networking.

I am interested in learning how to get the most out of this router, as well as diagnose what I think is a specific problem.

I have had this router for approximately 6-8 months and overall it seems to work well. I have 1 computer wired to the router, and I would guess approx 8-10 wireless devices that connect to it (cellphones, laptops, ipads). I set it up myself and cant recall details, but can post screenshots or traffic histories or whatever is necessary to help.

The main issue I am having lately is wireless cutout on both the 2.4ghz and the 5ghz channels. Especially when performing multiple tasks at the same time, approx every 3 minutes I completely lose all wireless capabilities while the 1 wired connection appears to be intact. Specifically I am noticing this issue when simultaneous downloading games on steam and streaming videos. The wireless signal appears to stop broadcasting, then I switch from 1 of the networks to the other and I immediately get network traffic back....for about 3 mins :(

How do I diagnose if there is a problem with the router itself vs something else?

How do I fully/properly set up this router and take advantage of all of its capabilities?

I see that there is a poweruser here named Rmerlin who makes custom firmware for Asus routers. Is there any advantage to using his firmware?