What's new

AC68u Kernel Update

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

bl4ckjupiter

New Around Here
Hi,

this is my first time using Asus AC68U-B1 with merlin fw 386.13, i trying setup wiregurad but all the information i found the kernel is not support for wiregurad.
i'm also trying https://nixfaq.org/2020/07/wireguar...v7-32-bit-chipset-running-asuswrt-merlin.html also get fail, show opkg install wireguard-tools Unknown package 'wireguard-tools'. Collected errors: * opkg_install_cmd: Cannot install package wireguard-tools.

anybody know how to upgrade the kernel? the goal just need wireguard can run in this router

thanks

Others might be able to help you with a direct Wireguard install but I don't know whether a Kernel udpate is possible (pretty sure it is not).

If you have Merlin with amtm running and would like to try TAILMON, it installs Tailscale which has Wireguard under the hood and works on the RT-AC68U. Might be an easy way to get Wireguard running in some form.

k.

Another option is DD-WRT. WG has been running in the kernel w/ full GUI configuration options for years now. You're never going to get anywhere near the performance of WG in user space as you will w/ the kernel. And frankly, to my mind, THAT is the primary benefit of having WG when it comes to these older routers. Plus you get all the other goodies (PBR (policy based routing), watchdog, etc.).

FWIW, last time I tried it w/ DD-WRT on my own AC68U, I recall getting about 117Mbps, compared to about 40Mbps w/ OpenVPN.

Last edited:
thanks for reply
i will try with merlin fw first, which for me easy to setup, beside wireguard i also need dual wan.

just need for failover&failback