What's new

Asus rt ac88u Vs NETGEAR Nighthawk AC1900

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Craig Pettigrove

New Around Here
I have been using the Netgear Nighthawk for around 2 years and have been very happy with it's performance. I recently upgraded to the Asus RT AC88U due to it's 8 LAN ports and was thinking it would give me noticeble performance benefits. One thing I was suprised to find out though, was the Nighthawk had better WiFi Range on the 2.4 and 5GHZ bands then the Asus RT AC88U. Now I am doubting whether I should sell the Asus router and just keep using the Netgear Nighthawk. Am I right to expect better range from the Asus router and am I getting many other benefits by using the Asus router. Any additional information would be helpful.

What do people consider the best all round router for under $250?

That's odd, pretty sure most reviews and experiences put the 88U ahead in performance/range. Did you upgrade the 88U firmware and also is your positioning the same?

I originally bought a ASUS RT-AC3100 (basically a AC88U with only 4 Ethernet ports), returned it, replacing it with a Netgear R7800 router.

I have to agree with you, the R7800 has much better coverage (both 2.4 and 5.0 bands) in my home compared to the ASUS RT-AC3100. I'm pretty happy with the R7800's wireless performance.

OP was talking about the R7000 (AC1900).