What's new

ASUS XT8 w/ 2.5G multigig switch +XT8 nodes not working (need help)

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Moaf

New Around Here
Hi everyone,
Slight noob here so apologize in advance
My current ISP is 2.5G internet so I'm really wanting to take advantage of the extra bandwidth

Current setup:
  • ISP with 2.5G internet
  • ISP modem setup in bridge mode > wired to main XT8 node via 2.5G WAN port (wireless router mode/AI mesh mode)
  • I have 2 additional XT8 nodes (1 on each floor) that are currently hard wired via CAT5e ethernet to the 2x 1G LAN ports on the main XT8 node (Ethernet backhaul mode)
    • Everything is solid and works perfectly fine right now but as you can imagine, the two XT8 nodes on each floor are limited to the 1G LAN ports they're plugged into on the main XT8 router node (and I'm thinking if I can get 2.5G into each of those nodes I'd potentially get some faster speeds)
Since each XT8 has a 2.5G WAN port, my goal is to have the 2x XT8 nodes on each floor be plugged in with 2.5G - so I bought a unmanaged 5port 2.5G multigig switch to go between the modem and the main XT8 router to hopefully then give out 2.5G ports from the switch to my other 2x nodes

What I tried
  • ISP modem 2.5G port > 5port 2.5G multigig unmanaged switch > 2.5G WAN port of XT8 router
    • This works - my internet still works without issue with the single XT8 router node
  • When I connect in the OTHER 2x XT8 nodes into the 5port 2.5G multigig switch, they aren't detected and don't come online (I can see there's data transfer happening as the switch lights up showing 2.5G speeds)
    • I thought this would be a simple plug-and-play but guess it isnt this easy