What's new

Best Router for 3000 sqft home

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Mwh21

New Around Here
Hi All, I am new to this Forum and looking for purchasing advice on a wireless router. I have some knowledge, but not a ton around this.

I have built a new home, (approx 3000 sqft, 2 stories & finished basement) looking for great coverage throughout the home. We will be running multiple devices (iPads & iPhones) and streaming video to 2 or 3 TVs. Again, one on each floor. Will also be running a wireless printer to it.

My current provide is Spectrum. Not sure if that makes a difference. I don't have a brand preference. Would like to stay around $250-$300. Any help or advice you could provide would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Budged 200-300 usd
Wath i would do is buy a EdgeRouter-X
Then two ACCESS POINTS Ubiquiti UniFi PRO or Ubiquiti UniFi LR

Or a Mesh network as Linksys Velop or a Netgear Orbi but now you are at 350-500 usd budget

If you have Ethernet available on each floor, try Google Home, with each Mesh point connected via Ethernet.

If you don't have Ethernet available, try NETGEAR Orbi.

If you have Ethernet available on each floor, try Google Home, with each Mesh point connected via Ethernet.

If you don't have Ethernet available, try NETGEAR Orbi.

Based on my experience the last three months, I am going to disagree with Tim on the Orbi recommendation as the firmware situation is a complete trainwreck.

Based on my experience the last three months, I am going to disagree with Tim on the Orbi recommendation as the firmware situation is a complete trainwreck.
Please say some more about the wreck...

I agree about the Orbi. Had to return my. Constant dropouts and latency issues.