What's new

Building outdoor wifi net

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

robgendreau

New Around Here
I need to build a small net for mobile outdoor use. I’m a noob so bear with me.

The internet source, when we have one, is gonna be wifi from a public source, like a campground. Or maybe something further away, depending on the antenna's reach.

The internet data would then have to be redistributed via wifi to clients like phones and computers. And this WLAN would also have to work when there is NO internet connection (so simply bridging or repeating the internet/LAN source isn't sufficient in all situations).

It would seem this is analogous to the WISP situation, like in some places where the internet is provided to a home and the box that receives the WAN connection has a router function that redistributes that via wifi and/or ethernet, just like the boxes that Comcast or ATT provides, the difference being the WAN connection is wifi, not ethernet, ADSL, etc.

My existing routers, like my Airport Express, won't do this. They can act in "client mode," but that only means they act as a wifi client only and can't at the same time act as a router to redistribute wifi (again, not interested in bridging or repeating).