What's new

Dedicated VPN port setup for using with Raspberry PI

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Pez

New Around Here
Hi all, I’m hoping someone will be able to give a so straight instructions and answers to my questions.

Before I begin however I just want to apologies for how my post may come across, I don’t mean for it to sound derogatory or demanding, I appreciate anyone who takes the time to contribute to this thread. My purpose for writing it this way is so I could get clear answers to the questions because from what I’ve seen there are lot of misleading threads on this matter. Also I can’t be the only person who would benefit from clear and accurate responses. I’ve been an IT professional for almost 17 years and even I find some on the terminology confusing and contradicting myself at times.

There seems to be a lot of scattered information regarding theses subjects on the web, with most of it conflicting (depending who you ask).

I’ll start with my setup, what I want to achieve and then my questions…. Or if’s it’s at all possible with my current setup.

My Setup:

I have a Raspberry PI running XBMC that’s connected to me TV. The PI then connects to and Asus RT-AC68U via Ethernet running the latest version of Asuswrt-Merlin (376.48). From there the Asus connects to a VDSL modem and out to the internet.

I have no problems connecting to the internet from my PI as it stands or any other device, everything is working how you’d expect it to with this setup.

What I Want to Achieve:

1) I want to setup my Asus RT-AC68U to connect out using PIA (Private Internet Access) VPN through the Asuswrt-Merlin firmware installed (through the GUI)