What's new

Extremely low speed on ac86u with openvpn client

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

hassangh

New Around Here
I am new to the openvpn topics. I have an ac59u running on asuswrt and just bought an ac86u running on merlin. I set exactly the same openvpn client on both of these routers (vpn server from hotspot shield). Following are my observations:
1. The dl and ul speed on ac59u is higher than those of ac86u.
2. The speed on ac86u is extremely low like 2 to 3 mbs.
3. The connection on ac86u is not stable and glitches time by time.
4. When on ac86u, I can't open some sites including Google play, youtube, and Instagram.

What are the sources of problem?
What should I do? I downgraded ac86u to different versions of merlin and even asuswrt of no avail. I even used openvpn configuration from other vpn providers ending up the same result.
I observed that CPU usage on ac86u would not spike even 50%. The ac86u performance is great on other times but not when using openvpn client.
I checked the logged report but there was no error.
Is there any specific setting I should consider when applying openvpn configuration? What about not opening some sites?

Last edited:
just bought an ac86u

Not sure what your VPN issue is, but this router is End-of-Life at Asus and will be Asuswrt-Merlin supported by the end of the year only, plus it's well known for multiple hardware and software issues. If you purchased it used - run it on stock Asuswrt for some time to make sure it works properly.

Poor performance combined w/ not being able to open some sites suggests you may have an mtu issue w/ OpenVPN.