What's new

Fios G1100 vs r7000 or other?

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

pj_rage

New Around Here
I recently cut the cord and grabbed gigabit internet from Fios, as I'm sure many have.

I don't want to rent a router, so I'm looking into my options.

I've been using the G1100 for almost 3 years and I have been satisfied with it. It would certainly do the job for me moving forward, I just want to make sure that for similar cost there isn't something better?

I'm not a power user of wireless by any means. I mainly use it for my firetv/roku/tvs to connect and stream, and phones/tablets for browsing the web and watching youtube. I don't have a need or desire for extreme wireless speeds. Anything that really needs speed I'm able to run wired.

I'm in a single family home where I can only see 2 neighbors SSIDs, if that matters.

The two priorities would be stability and wireless coverage from the single router (no APs/extenders). The range of the G1100 covers everything for me with adequate bandwidth, except the garage and driveway, but I'm not too worried about those. That is to say, range could be better for my needs, but not by much. I use an extender in the garage already.

The G1100 has been exceptional at stability (I've not had to mess with or reboot it in years), and hopefully anything else I'd replace it with would also be similarly stable.