What's new

Flow cache vs tcpdump and ntopng

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

arjay199

New Around Here
Newbie here, please be kind!

Platform: 2x RT-AX86U Pro; one is an AIMesh router and the other is an AIMesh node.
Firmware: Merlin 3004.388.8 on both.
NAT is disabled, 192.168.1.0/24 + 192.168.101.0/24 is on the LAN side and 192.168.2.0/24 is on the WAN side.

Network looks like this:

Carrier VDSL <-> ARRIS BGW210-700 (LAN: 192.168.0.0/17) <-> RT-AX86U Pro (WAN: 192.168.2.0/24, LAN 192.168.1.0/24 + 192.168.101.0/24) <-> LAN

As I could not get "cascaded router" feature on the ARRIS unit to work with private addressing on the LAN side of the RT-AC86U pro, I resorted to using a large CIDR, 192.168.0.0/17, between it and the RT-AX86U pro and enabling proxy ARP on the WAN interface of the RT-AX86U pro router. This arrangement relieves the RT-AC86U Pro from having to perform NAT while still utilizing it to route between the ARRIS and the LAN.

I'm exploring ways to monitor traffic (and diagnose issues) using such packages as tcpdump and ntopng. So far as I can tell, tcpdump on the WAN interface does not see all packets associated with a given "flow" when "fc" HW acceleration is enabled. I don't think this is the case with "runner", as cursory testing appears to indicate that tcpdump sees all packets whether or not "runner" is enabled.

Questions: