What's new

Help me decide

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

ozgurcnbyz

Regular Contributor
Hi,
I know that i need a good wireless router to take full advantage of my internet and local network as the ISP's router is utterly crap. I am not what you'd call an apple fan boy but i've got a lot of apple devices at home including macbooks ipads iphones and appletv. After a detailed research i came to a conclusion that asus routers are great in terms of performance. I also found out that the apples airport extreme is also a great product. I cant find any user review that states otherwise. Ppl seems to be very happy about it. Asus's RT-AC68U on the other hand gets quite a lot complaints about stability. My occupation is in IT operations and i really dont want to be spending time fixing things on the router. I just want reliable performance. So i cannot decide between asus rt-ac68u and apple airport extreme. Please also consider the fact that i am not interested all the features asus provides except for the dnsmasq which could be quite handy.
Thanks

Hi,
I know that i need a good wireless router to take full advantage of my internet and local network as the ISP's router is utterly crap.

Can we get a little more information than this? How many wired/wireless clients? What other devices are on this network; eg, switch, NAS, PC dedicated as a server? What kind of internet connection do you have as well as the hardware the ISP provided you?