What's new

Help w/ ~50 Client Wireless Network

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

rhodes

New Around Here
Hello! So I've lurked on this website for a long time purely out of interest, but I need a little networking wisdom now, so I'm finally getting around to registering. This is a long post, but hopefully the largish size of the network makes it a fun problem! So a little background:

I'm a college student, I study computer science and biology, and I've been in charge of building and maintaining the network at my fraternity for the last two years. The network serves about 60 wireless clients in total, so probably on average no more than 30 at the same time, and a couple dozen wired game systems. The money trickles in slowly, so hardware will have to remain the same for some time. Here’s our current setup:

1) Comcast business connection, usually pulls about 18Mbps down and 6Mbps up.
2) Comcast-provided, 4-port router with inbuilt modem (some second-tier manufacturer). It does NOT have a bridge mode, but is configured with the main router as its only client and a static IP
3) D-Link DGL-4100 gaming router (does all of the heavy routing, chosen for its high throughput)
4) Two Netgear JGS516 gigabit switches which feed all wall outlets and APs
5) Two WNDR3700 routers (configured as APs) and one WN802T-200 AP