What's new

increasing wireless coverage with 2 routers.

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

mougel01

New Around Here
Hi guys,

So I'm pretty new to all that is networking..':confused: Iv moved in to a new apartment which is rather large 250m² and is almost entirely in length.. :cool:

Iv drawn a small diagram to try and illustrate my problem. (attached)

We are 3 people living in the apartment and therefore require all 3 rooms. Being young students we all want wireless internet with a high reception rate that it be in the common areas or in the rooms. Unfortunately there are only two internet connections in the apartment (the stars) and they are at opposite ends of the apartment if we install the router on 1 side, the other has little to no signal whatsoever and vice versa. We however have 2 wireless routers (Netgear TEW-639gr & TEW-631brp). I therefore tried to install the second one (which we took from our old apartment as it was ours but hadn't used till now.) and gave it the same setting than the one we found here when we arrived. This created 2 networks with 2 SSID's. Not only is this unpractical when we move around (like going from the rooms to the living room..) but we quickly started to notice the internet was crashing on both sides. I quickly figured it was due to my settings. The internet was set to "Static IP" so I assumed a conflict occurred... :( now I believe i have reached the limits of my knowledge so I came to you..

I would like to use both routers so we have access everywhere but without the conflict which causes us to have no internet whatsoever and if possible for them to create one large network.. (same SSID & Password) so we can move around freely.
Anyone got any solutions for me?

Attachments