What's new

Is my current setup good enough?

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

David T.

New Around Here
Hey everybody,

Newbie here to all this router/networking stuff. I've been luring for quite a while trying to learn what I can, but to be honest, it's still a bit overwhelming. :eek:

With that in mind, I thought I would start at the lowest level and try and explain what I have and try and learn if what I have is fine, or if I can do better... and how and why.

Anyhow, my router is a DIR 655 located on the second floor of our house and we have a 10Mpbs connection to the web. As far as I can tell, it's been a good router. Never drops connection and seems pretty fast at most tasks.

We have 1 Windows laptop, an Ipad Air, and an Android Tablet all with "n" cards in them (no home network... yet :D). All three are used on the second floor within 15 ft. of the router, and downstairs usually right underneath the router.

I downloaded and installed inSIDDer on my laptop. According to insider, there are not conflicts with any other routers in the neighborhood and gives a link score of 100. When I am upstairs inSIDDER registers between 34 and 37 dBm and downstairs it registers between 47 and 50 dBm. Are these numbers good, bad, or meaningless?

When I run Speedtest.net it gives a score of 10.1 to 10.3 Mbps in both locations. I'm guessing these are good numbers and it sounds like I'm getting what I'm paying for from my internet provider... correct?

With the above, would getting a better router be of any benefit in speed and/or range?

The one "fly in the ointment" might be that I do plan on getting a new MacBook Pro soon that I believe has AC1750 capabilities.

Thanks for your patients and any advice you can provide.

Dave