What's new

Manual IP-inside or outside range?

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

canuckle

Regular Contributor
I realize this is a general question, but since I use RMerlin's firmware exclusively, I thought I'd post it here.

When assigning manual ip's to a device via the firmware UI, does it matter if the ip assigned is inside our outside the range? Mine are inside the range, and I haven't had any issues, but I'm still learning and I can't seem to find a clear answer that isn't buried in black belt level jargon, lol.

Thanks,

Mike

From my experience it doesn't work if you put them outside your dhcp range. Seems a bit odd to me but I'm no expert. That's just the way it seems to be.

Sent from my GT-N7000 using Tapatalk

From my experience it doesn't work if you put them outside your dhcp range. Seems a bit odd to me but I'm no expert. That's just the way it seems to be.

OK thanks.

It shouldn't matter. I have a mixture of both here actually - some that I have manually allocated outside for my real static devices (my desktop/server and my VoIP ATA) and my VMs, while some inside the scope have simply been reserved (all my test routers, for instance).

Last edited:
It shouldn't matter. I have a mixture of both here actually - some that I have manually allocated outside for my real static devices (my desktop/server and my VoIP ATA) and my VMs, while some inside the scope have simply been reserved (all my test routers, for instance).

Did you need to set anything on the router to get it to see those outside your range?
I tried it for my static devices but couldn't get it to work do just used the top end of my dhcp range.