What's new

Need help designing new Home Network with FIOS

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Dropndestroy

New Around Here
So we are moving to a new home and I was tasked with setting up a new home network that will cover the new needs. Our current setup will not work at all in the new home as it less than half the size. I am a sw dev and so I approached this task like I would any other task so please ignore any weird wording :D

I am looking for any advice on improvements or potential pitfalls. If you need any more info please ask away!

------------------------------------------------
NETWORK EXPANSION PLAN

PURPOSE: SIMPLIFY, MODERNIZE, EXPAND CURRENT NETWORK TO MEET NEW DEMANDS

CURRENT SETUP/EQUIPMENT:
http://imgur.com/9QsmSCl

Verizon router receives internet from ONT through ethernet which is wired to all the home’s ethernet ports. The secondary routers act as APs and switches. Each secondary router runs it’s own SSID. Problems with this setup is poor wireless performance and regular need to reboot main router (Verizon). Managing port forwarding and managing the ~30 clients is a nightmare. Wired performance is as expected when wired directly to the main router, however the connection is intermittently dropped on clients when network intensive tasks are run and slow when not dropped. (File transfers, playing online games)

PROPOSED NEW SETUP/EQUIPMENT:
http://imgur.com/a/1rm9h

- ENVIRONMENT:
12000 SQ. FT. 3 FLOORS LIVING SPACE WITH TOTAL SIZE OF PROPERTY AT ¾ ACRES.
CAT 6 CABLING TO 8+ DROPS (2 CONNECTIONS (?) PER DROP)
EXISTING 16P SWITCH PROVIDED
NO DROPPED CEILINGS OR CEILING CABLE DROPS
NETWORK REQUIREMENTS:
50-100 CLIENTS (WIRELESS AND WIRED COMBINED WITH MAJORITY WIRED)
300 Mbps SYMMETRICAL FIBER CONNECTION