What's new

Need help understanding wireless channels and bandwidth

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

JxXx

Occasional Visitor
Hi,
I would like to ask some qns abt wireless channels and bandwidth.i am a newbie.so pls be patient:)
I have an ASUS ac66u.under 5ghz.i see that i can set 20/40/80,20,40 or 80.
My qn is,what is the difference between 20,40 and 80?

I set my 5hz at ch36.but i moved my mouse over to the green wifi icon at the right hand side of the router page,i see it as 36+41.what does this mean?

Thanks for the help!

Regards

It is a confusing topic.

The maximum link rate a client connects with depends on the bandwidth mode the router is set for and what the client supports.

This FAQ #11 has a table covering 802.11a/b/g/n link rates and bandwidth modes.

802.11ac requires 80 MHz bandwidth and supports maximum link rates of
433 MHz, 867 MHz and 1300 MHz for one, two and three stream operation.

rule of thumb...

Narrow Channels - better error correction, more range, good capacity
Wide Channels - better bandwidth, less range, good capacity

2 stream - good enough
3 steam - more capacity even with two stream clients (MIMO advantages)

Goes for both 2.4GHz and 5.0Ghz, and applies to 802.11n and 802.11ac

Hi,
thx for the replies.Sorry for the confusing topic.I will attached pictures for better picture of my qns
One of the attached is a picture of the channels summary at the top right hand corner.As you can see,5GHz has 36+42,what does that mean?

For 5Ghz,i can select 20/40/80 or individual mhz.What are the pros and cons selecting multiple vs single?

Attachments

• 1.jpg
    1.jpg
    11.5 KB · Views: 709
  • 2.jpg
    2.jpg
    13.9 KB · Views: 393