What's new

New Router Time

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

ScottStoef

Occasional Visitor
Well it looks like the time has come to find a new home router because my Asus N66U is starting do some weird stuff. I definitely would like to get an AC router, and I'm thinking about the TP Link Archer 5400. The reviews on it have been great so far and I'm sure it will be a huge upgrade over my existing router.

I'm not very tech savvy network wise and I really want a plug and play router that has good to excellent security. We have a fairly large 3 story home with about 4500 sq feet. We have several wireless devices that will be accessing the network: 5 computers, 3 iPads, 4 iPhones, and 5 smart tvs/bluray.

Does anyone have any advice on this router or should be looking at something else in the $250 range?

Thanks!

Last edited:
good to excellent security isnt something you will find on a consumer router, you will need a non consumer router for that. pfsense is free but you will still need to get wifi.

you're looking at the wrong router. Those numbers dont mean anything as it is a tri band router. What you want is a typical dual band router as it is cheaper and you may need more than one to cover your house. Placement is important as well.

tri brand routers are for when you have lots of wifi traffic in a small area. Im not sure how to explain things with area, i mean is it square or rectangular and how rectangular is your house as well? Is it 45x100 feet? With wifi its not how many clients you have, its how much bandwidth do you expect to use and it also matters to how much WAN bandwidth you have and how much LAN traffic you expect to have.