What's new

Questions on my first DIY NAS (+server) build

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

P195

Occasional Visitor
Hi Everyone,

I’m new to the world of NAS, servers, homelab etc but have been doing my research over the last couple of weeks.
Initially I’m setting up a rig to be first and foremost a NAS and backup unit, but in due course will want to do other stuff such as run a server for Media, Home security, Router/Firewall, VM’s, containers etc.
Initially I plan to run either Unraid or TrueNAS core, but in the future I may want to virtualize these in something like Proxmox (not sure about this though).

My current hardware list:
  • ASRock AM4 B450M Pro4 2.0
  • Ryzen 7 2700X CPU with Wraith Prism stock cooler
  • Fractal Node 804 Case
  • Corsair RM650 PSU
Stuff to buy / consider (where I could do with some help):

GPU​

My CPU has no integrated graphics, but I do have a very old 7800 GT 512mb relic, that I could use for initial setup, and then run headless. Question is though, Is it likely that I will need a permanent GPU for the tasks that I have mentioned (e.g transcoding for media server etc)?

Memory – 16 or 32 gb? ECC vs Non-ECC (Motherboard specs: Pinnacle Ridge support DDR4 3200+(OC) / 2933(OC) / 2667 / 2400 / 2133 ECC & non-ECC, un-buffered memory)​

As my 2700X and mainboard both support ECC memory, should I spend the extra money on it?
Based on what I want to do now and in the future, would 16GB be enough or should I get 32gb? Also will all DDR4 288pin UDIMM RAM be suitable / functional? What speed should I aim for?

Drives? Determine what type of RAID setup​