What's new

Quite the Conundrum...

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

pidgeynerd

New Around Here
Hi everyone, I've been a long time lurker but decided to finally jump in and seek some advice.

Some background - I'm a Cloud Architect at Microsoft and specialize in Software Defined Networking. My spouse is also a Cloud Architect and works for AWS so discussions are fun and competitive. We are very technical and always looking for some cool project to work on. Complexity is more of an interest than a turn off. We spend all our time working from home with our jobs so our home network is essential. However, our current setup is fairly basic - I run a Linksys EA9300 + a RasberryPi for PiHole w/DHCP + Unbound for DNS. The router is very lackluster when it comes to features (no VPN, Firewall, Custom Routes etc.), but it does a surprisingly decent job of covering a 7000 sqft home and 40+ devices (Gaming Desktops, Laptops, Phones, Tablets, Game Consoles, TV's, IoT Devices etc.) Internet speed is about 400Mbps down but will look to upgrade to 1Gbps in the near future. If my current router supported a 3rd party firmware like DD-WRT, I would likely be able to solve a lot of my problems.

Some things I need to be able to do with a new router are the following:
  • Support VPN with the ability to route certain clients out over VPN or directly to the internet. Example: Route certain Laptops over VPN all the time, but have others route directly to the Internet. Doing this based on MAC/Static IP is fine but doing it based on destination FQDN would be a plus. So if going to X site, route over VPN. If going to Netflix.com, route directly to Internet.