What's new

Routing setup with huge file transfer as well as other clients

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Dan Wells

New Around Here
I have a slightly unusual question, because I have a dedicated machine performing a 30 TB file transfer (no, not all in one chunk - many years of photos going up to PhotoShelter - I'm a photographer by trade, and I also manage IT for a couple of other photogs). Due to the house setup, I don't think there is any good way to hardwire it - I rent, and can't drill holes). The massive transfer is going from an HP EliteBook G2 with AC867 wireless and good antennas. It's not far from the router (less than 25 feet), but is through a floor. There actually IS an old Ethernet cable, but it's not terminated, and I'm not at all sure it's gigabit rated - 100 Mbps Ethernet would be much slower than the wireless. Internet is fiber (I wouldn't be damnfool enough to try it with anything else), 150 Mbps symmetric, with gigabit available at a reasonable cost if PhotoShelter will take that much data at a time - I will check if I'm actually sending 150 reliably, then upgrade to gigabit if I'm saturating the 150 Mbps link...
I could put another wireless adapter on the EliteBook(either USB 3 or ExpressCard, if there were something enough faster to make it worth it). I could also power line it, either between the modem and the router OR the router and the HP, but I haven't heard of power line as fast as 2x2 AC.