What's new

Setting up VPN on router...couple of questions...

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

THXTom

Occasional Visitor
Hello all,

Running RT-AC66U w/Merlin’s 378.55

Currently using PIA/VPN

Want to run PIA/VPN on router.

Been researching last few days as I’m new to this and think I have it figured out to set up…but have a few last questions…
========================
Is it possible using the Asus Merlin firmware to set a specific PC/smart TV/TV Box up on the LAN to route it's traffic through a VPN connection which has been setup on the Asus router?

Then the rest of the home Laptops/PC’s/phones on the LAN to bypass the VPN settings and go out on the web as normal?

Also, is it a simple matter of going to VPN>OpenVPN Clients>Service state “off” to disable open vpn altogether?

Thanks, Tom

Hi

here is a setup guide for VPN with Merlin and PIA
http://www.thinhammer.com/index.php...-vpn-client-using-private-internet-access-pia

You need to change a couple of options from that illustration as follows;

accept dns configuartions input "Strict"
encryption chipper "BF-CBC"
Username / Password Auth. Only "YES"
and for custom configurations at the bottom use the following;

tls-client
remote-cert-tls server
reneg-sec 0
verb 3

also you have to put the .crt from PIA in
Authorization Mode
Content modification of Keys & Certificates. and paste it in the second box
Certificate Authority

You can setup to have up to 5 VPN and local your local isp and route the internet from whatever services you want and
will also drop any connections if your VPN goes down so you don't show your IP when the VPN goes down.
Here is the way to do it.
Setup a VPN and make sure it works.