What's new

Should I replace my RT-AC68U?

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

mosestyle

New Around Here
Hello everyone!

I've been using my RT-AC68 for more than 7+ years now and I honestly still love it!
Works great, stable and good range til this day!

For the last 2-3 years I've been using 250 Mbit/s, which have been working great. When using both 2.4 and 5Ghz on my phone or my PC, I'm getting like 240 Mbit/s, which is great!

However last week I upgraded to 500 Mbit/s and I noticed that my AC68U can't reach to that speed.
Even when I'm in front of my router, like literally 20cm away, I'm "only" getting ~260-300 Mbit/s.
I've tried both stock firmware and Merlin, same speed.
When using the ethernet cable from the router to my PC, I'm getting full speed (~490-498 Mbit/s)

Does this means that the RC68U Wifi can't handle 500Mbit/s speed and I need to replace it?

I've been looking for some replacement and found these. I don't want spend a lot since I'm on a budget (can't buy AX68U or AX86U):
- ASUS TUF-AX3000 V2
- ASUS RT-AX58U V2 AiMesh AX3000

I have also been looking for some TP link routers, specifically these (if they are better):
- TP-Link WLAN router AC1900 (1900Mbps)
- TP-Link Archer AX55

BUT I'm also wondering, since ASUS have AiProtection to block some malwares websites etc, do TP Link router also have something similar? If yes, I've noticed that ASUS is completely free, is it the same for TP link routers?