What's new

Strange issue I need help troubleshooting

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

wfines

New Around Here
Hey everyone!

I'm a long time reader and lurker of SmallNetBuilder. I've long championed the high quality reviews and support of the community, and it has now come to that point where I could use some personal help and/or advice!

I'm a relatively advanced user of computers, being a helpdesk technician by trade, but I'd say a novice when it comes to networking. I have a fairly thorough understanding of the technologies, but no formal network training. I've dabbled in DD-WRT and other firmwares, and can explain to some degree the use-cases of most features on modern routers. However, I'm having trouble understanding an issue I'm experiencing, and wonder if I might get help brainstorming on possible solutions. While this isn't your average networking question, I do believe it has a root cause in some sort of network configuration, as my reasoning below will hopefully outline.

The issue is this: I have recently purchased a D-Link IP Camera, model DCS-930L. I have an e4200 Linksys router at home (v1), using a Thomson modem on TekSavvy cable internet in Ontario. I have installed this camera wirelessly in my home, and can access the unit without issue, intra-or extra-network. The only issue is using the myDlink Lite iphone application.

Here's where things gets weird.