What's new

Support ending Dec 2024 for AC3100 - Need hardware buying advice?

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

WirelessNoob77

New Around Here
Hello!

I have had Merlin running on my ASUS RT-AC3100 for several years and it has been rock solid. Thank you to the developer! I will need to upgrade my hardware in December 2024 when the AC3100 is no longer supported. I am not a networking expert and the model numbers confuse me as to what is old and what is new.

From the supported models list, what is a model I should buy that will be supported for at least a few more years?

Thank you for your time. I appreciate the guidance.

Supported models​

• RT-AX88U
  • GT-AX11000
  • RT-AX58U V1
  • RT-AX3000 V1 (same firmware as RT-AX58U)
  • RT-AX86U
  • RT-AX86S (same firmware as RT-AX86U)
  • RT-AX68U
  • RT-AC68U V4 (same firmware as RT-AC68U)
  • GT-AXE11000
  • GT-AX6000
  • ZenWiFi Pro XT12
  • GT-AX11000_PRO
  • GT-AXE16000
  • RT-AX86U_PRO
  • RT-AX88U_PRO
  • RT-BE96U
  • GT-BE98_PRO

Your router won’t stop working in Dec 2024 and you won’t be hacked in Jan 2025. If you really need a new one perhaps RT-AX88U Pro is good enough choice. Popular around model.

There are >100 similar threads in Wireless Buying Advice section. Take a look.

Last edited:
@Justinh - run down the spec list, look at the current firmware supported - Merlin and Asus, search the threads, etc, etc. There is plenty of detail out there. Do a side by side compare.

Actually, RT-AX88U Pro journey with Asuswrt-Merlin is currently uncertain as it stuck to Asuswrt 4.0 base. For guaranteed new Asuswrt 5.0 base Asuswrt-Merlin - RT-BE88U. Not listed as supported yet, but support confirmed by RMerlin. Yes, it’s relatively expensive.