What's new

Troubleshooting a Network for us Beginners … Fix It Before It Breaks!

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Klueless

Very Senior Member
I’m a total novice so take anything I say with a grain of salt … or an aspirin. I’m a part time entrance level employee at my brother-in-law’s car lots where I made a lot of mistakes in a short time. The purpose of this much … too … long post is to help other novices avoid the pain we went through!

Ben has a small car lot with a service center behind it. Five miles down the road is his larger car lot which he expanded a few years ago by buying the house and property next door. The sales office was getting crowded so he moved part of the staff to the house next door. Our Wi-Fi signal actually reaches but the computers were slow and kept losing connection.

One of my bosses tells me to go buy a new router. I puzzle, “Who bought and set up what we have?”

“I don’t know, a friend of a friend.”

So I go to the corner computer store and the clerk goes, “Here, you’ll like this router.”

I read the “quick install”, unplug the old one, plug in the new and poof … I’m now a “network engineer”! I briefly consider setting security but I’m not allowed to touch the computers unless they break so I have to leave the network “open”.

Everything works (no harm, no foul) but the PCs in the house next door are still slow and intermittent so it’s back to the corner computer shop. I learn all I had done was upgrade a B/G router to a B/G/N router over 2.4Ghz. $50 later I walk out a B/G range extender. I install it by the window in the house next door and presto, all the PCs in the house are working great.