What's new

Up for a challenge? Can I pick your brain?

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

jessenj

New Around Here
I have been a long-time home network builder and have been a wifi user since the first Linksys 802.11b routers, and remember upgrading to a WRT54G and thinking (man, this thing will last me forever). Then I got into DD-WRT and breathed new life into my aging router, but as time and technology changed, so did my needs. Now, I'm having the hardest time figuring out what would suit my needs best. Here's my needs, and hopefully someone can help me revamp my current setup.

1. With Comcast HSI, I have about ~62mbps down / 15mbps up, and have a dyndns address to remotely connect to my home

2. I have a dedicated static ip'd server that is my main box, that is a gigabit NIC'd box with the following services that I need remote access to, preferably via port mapping:
RDP
Subsonic
Emit
SFTP
Splashtop

3. I have a few network devices that need NAT'ing (ie SlingBox, IP Webcam, Pogo)

4. I have 3 modern laptops with 802.11b/g/n NIC's

5. I have 2 802.11n Android Phones

6. I have a wireless-G Brother color laser

7. I have 2 Tivo's

8. I have 2 WD TV Live Plus

I use WPA2-AES with MAC filtering and have about 45 devices to allow all the other devices that occasionally connect (Wii, Nintendo DSi, etc) and friends laptops.

What I need is a router that can handle all of this. I currently have a Netgear WNDR3700 v1. I've gone through a few different routers, but haven't been able to find anything that's kept up. I continuously have wifi drops, and at best, I never see above 54mbps. I do understand that the 802.11g devices are keeping me tied down, and not letting me see 300mbps, but this is where I need advice.