What's new

Upgrade Firmware to Merlin rt ac5300

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

waldo142

New Around Here
I have been using an Asus RT-AC5300 for 4 years and only a few minor hiccups. Merlin firmware was installed. I have 85+ Manually assigned IP addressess. I just bought a gently used identical router for backup reasons. It has Asus firmware 9.0.0.04.386-41994. 2 days I have been trying to upgrade to Merlin. 1. I have downloaded via ethernet not wireless.4 hours of wrong file type. Then saw a fix where change TRX to Capitals CFG. That seemed to work but then when couldnt relog more investigating to an entry ..DO NOT LOG in just hold reset button 5 sec and reboots then try to log in. Well that little exercise leaves me at the asus firmware. Original login. I am getting dizzy from going in circles. I am thinking my next step is target practice. I AM AT THE END OF MY CAPEABILITIES. hELP.

have you tried flashing it with putting the router in restore mode or using the recovery tool from asus?

I just bought a gently used identical router for backup reasons.

This model router is End-Of-Life and there will be no new Asuswrt firmware for it, soon no new Asuswrt-Merlin either.

The firmware file is .trx, needs no fixing and flashes with no issues, unless the router itself has some issue. If you are going to use Firmware Restoration tool make sure you flash the correct firmware file. The correct firmware files for your RT-AC5300 are here: