What's new

Import DVD Library to computer

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

the taker

New Around Here
Hello, I'm new to this particular forum, but had commented quite a bit while this site was part of Tom's Hardware. I'm sure that the discussions have been done to death on importing DVDs to computer, but I just see too many options out there to know what will work good for me.

I have an iPod nano that plays video, so watching the occasional movie or TV show in there would be great. I've also tried converters for AVI show downloads off bittorrent, to convert to iPod, but don't seem to have any success there either.I've tried some free downloads and experimented with settings (Handbrake and can't remember what else) but just can't seem to get a good import. I've got a brand new SATA DVD Burner, and instead of archiving movies to another DVD, I'd like to start importing them to a computer viewable file.

Can anyone let me know what has worked for them on starting to create a DVD/video library, and how to make it as few clicks as possible to get a file imported successfully?

Thanks,
caretakerthe

I too have wrestled with this... The trick with importing/converting DVD's is formats. What works well for one device won't necessarily work well or work at all on other devices or formats down the road. Not to mention, converting can be trickier than ripping because you're potentially dealing with tons fof different input formats of different quality.