What's new

Ping increases after couple of hours of the modem being on

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Loukios

Occasional Visitor
I'm currently having an issue where the ping increases after the modem being on for 3 hours+.
I'm currently running VDSL (PTM) on Zyxel VMG4005-B50A PPPoE passthrough to my RT-AX86U running Asuswrt.
After a fresh reboot on my modem, I get around 5ms (pinging 1.1.1.1) but after a couple of hours it increases to 8-10ms and I can't seem to understand what the problem is.
Note that rebooting the router alone does not solve the issue, I must reboot the modem. I have an outlet cable extension beside the router/modem could that cause this issue somehow?

I am not an expert when it comes to DSL service, however, are you sure that there actually is a problem? Please correct me if I am misunderstanding your post, but a jump from 5ms to 8-10ms is not a substantial jump at all and could be caused by a number of things, including how loaded down your network is? There could also be issues with your ISP, or, there could be a wide variety of things causing the increase in latency from your router to destination that is out of your control.

I have Cable internet service and if I have a ping of 30ms to a server, it is not unusual for it to jump up 5-10ms from time to time.

Last edited: