What's new

Buying an AP - Is Interference From RF Remote Controls a Concern?

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Shutterman

New Around Here
Somewhat of a wireless novice here, so please forgive the noob questions. I’m looking for an access point (or a router than can be configured as one) to fit the following situation:

I have a wired gigabit network in my home that interconnects a couple of desktop computers. I also have a gigabit switch installed on this network. The switch is located in a media closet next to an equipment rack that contains some home theater and audio gear. Included in the rack is a “narrow-band” (not sure, exactly, what this means) receiver and antenna that serve my RF remote control.

I wish to use an available port on the switch to install an access point. I will be able to mount the access point a few feet above the equipment rack, but it will still need to remain inside the media closet.

So my question is…with the above setup, should I be concerned with radio interference? If so, would I be apt to get less interference with an AP that operates at 2.4GHz or one that operates at 5 GHz?

The application for the AP will be to provide connectivity for a couple of laptops that will spend most of their time in the home theater room (35ft from equip rack). These will be purchased new, so I will have the opportunity to choose laptops that can utilize the 5 GHz range (assuming there is an advantage?).