What's new

Did I set up my home network correctly?

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

dissonance79

Occasional Visitor
Hello. I'm a bit of a novice but I set up my home network a few years ago and now that I'm looking to replace my current router (AC Asus model), I want to make sure I have everything optimized. My network is comprised of about 16+ wired connections (poe cameras, desktop, streaming devices, etc), about 10+ 2.4ghz wireless connections (iot, etc), and about 15+ 5ghz wireless connections (phones, laptops, tablets, etc). Current internet connection is 500 mbps down and 100 mbps up.

All of my in wall Cat5e goes to a panel in my garage. I terminated each wire onto a Commercial Electric 12-Port Category 5e Mini Patch Panel. Then I used short patch cables to connect from the patch panel to a gigabit switch. My router and modem are not located here due to it being a poor location for broadcasting wifi. The router and modem are located in a central location of the house connected to a cat5e wall cable.

I think it's correct but it seems weird because my router is running the whole house through one cat5e cable plugged into it from the wall that then runs to the switch in the garage. It seems like I'd want to use more ports on the back of my router so I can use the gaming port for my hardwired Xbox and it seems like using more ports directly on the router may help with speed?

Where is the ISP demarcation box ?
How does the ISP signal get to the modem ?
Ideally, you want the ISP signal to be on a dedicated cable to the modem, then a dedicated cable(s) to the router. From there , a LAN connection to your distribution switch.
A sketch of your physical layout and cable types (coax, cat5e, fiber ?) would be useful.