What's new

HELP ,asus RT-AC66U_B1 major problems 2.4 gone

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

aross1976

Occasional Visitor
hello i am a noob and my asus router has got a major problem after i installed a wifi extender that used the same SSID and password as my router , it was a 2.4 ghz band only repeater
after i installed it i had all kinds of problems with my smart home devices dropping so i got rid of it and then
i noticed that i could not connect to the 2.4 band or it would just not show up at all
after hours of tech support with asus it finally came back and was working with some but not all of my clients i had one last client that would not connect still so i rebooted the router and now the 2.4 GHZ channel is gone again
the router has not been right since and now i am really screwed because all my lights ,fans and AC can not be controlled at all , my smart home is very extensive and includes smartthings, HUE, broadlink, android box with bridge apps ,several echo dots, and GH mins etc. and most of it runs only on the 2.4ghz ban

Last edited:
Given your other post about your USB HDD the first thing I would suggest is that you leave that disconnected for the time being.

Then I would setup your 2.4GHz WiFi so that it is on a fixed Control Channel (not auto), either 1, 6 or 11. You can use a free phone app (WiFi Analyzer) to find the least busy channel. Also, set the channel bandwidth to 20MHz, not 40.

Given your other post about your USB HDD the first thing I would suggest is that you leave that disconnected for the time being.