What's new

I am a moron, please help me

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

kayakbrian

New Around Here
I build boats for a living, so all of this fancy computer stuff is totally beyond me. OK, here's the situation. I have a cheapo B series modem-router combo, speed where I live is slow so I'm not expecting faster. We're on an ordinary cable and our provider connects through PPPOE.

What I need is more range, we live on a small farm with lots of auxilliary little houses about 400 feet from the main house and I want to get internet out to them. Reading up it looks like I should be getting one of the top rated n series routers, it looks like I can run one off of my cheapo modem router, but I am deeply fearful that I'll take this thing out of the box, plug it in, follow the setup instructions, and it won't work for some goddamn reason. So that leads me to consider a modem-router, but I can't figure out if any of those have the same super duper range as the top rated routers. Maybe I should just get a router and try to make it work with the existing modem-router, or maybe I should buy a modem and seperate router, does an older modem slow down the speed? Dammit there are so many considerations and I can't figure them out. I need HELP!

Here is what I need:

1) range, I need to reach as far as I can, this is the most important thing
2) EASY set-up, I need to read instruction, follow them, and have it WORK, I'm find to spend more money for this convenience.
3) to know if I should go through existing modem-router to a new router, or buy a new modem and new router or buy a new-modem router.
4) Whatever I get needs to be ADSL and able to do PPPOE