What's new

Looking to get a wireless-n router

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

blimpie

New Around Here
I'm new to all this so any info would be appreciated.

I have a desktop and laptop in my home. My current g router often disconnects, causing me to have to restart it. I'm looking to upgrade. My laptop has 802.11b/g WLAN. I have no problem with my laptop speed. It's just that when both are being used, the desktop slows down. So would I still need to get a n-adapter for my laptop?

I'm unsure about all this dual band stuff. Is this necessary to avoid those disconnections? I was looking at the D-Link DIR-655 and Linksys Dual-Band WRT400N. Do I go with the dual-band? The ASUS RT-N13U looks to be a good value but is the performance as high the other ones? I'm open to any suggestions as long as it's in the $120 or cheaper range.

Last edited:
Your first step is to find out why you are getting disconnected. It could be interference from neighboring networks or non Wi-Fi sources like cordless phones, microwave ovens, baby monitors, etc. Switching to N will do nothing to solve interference problems, except if you get dual-band gear and move to the 5 GHz band.

If both laptop and desktop are wirelessly connected and you are seeing slowdowns on one when the other is busy, then you may need more bandwidth. (What are you doing on the laptop?) N can help with that, but both clients will need to be N.