What's new

Need a spot of advice ASAP..

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

firedog25

New Around Here
I need a wireless N router with gigabit ports that can handle the attachment of 2 access points and a 24 port switch. At any given time I have about 15 devices attached and at peak traffic time probably 40-50 devices of combined types like laptops, iPods/Phones, Android devices, and game systems. I've been using a D-Link DIR-655 for about 3 years now and now it's come to the point where that seems to be a weak link in our chain. CONSTANT power cycles although sometimes I can reboot through software it's becoming an increasing rarity. I know it's not my modem because I've connected a laptop directly to the modem when the system goes down and it works AND my access points and switch are still visible. Obviously B/G is a must, N is a bonus but not entirely necessary since the majority of the people I work with don't know B/G/N from a hole in the ground and most don't even care, they just want the outages to stop.

Thanks in advance!

D-Link routers have had a bad batch of firmwares for about a year or two, so far most devices from them have been fixed with current firmwares. I would suggest trying out one of the latest firmwares. DIR-655 Rev. A latest is 1.34NA, Rev. B latest is 2.00NA. If you're not comfortable with flashing firmware, a temporary solution to the DNS outages that plagues D-Link routers with the bad batch of firmwares is to disable dns relay under Setup>Network Settings in the router by unchecking Enable DNS Relay

Last edited: