What's new

Network to stream HD mkv's

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

hussain

Occasional Visitor
Guys I am new to networking but not new to computers. I think of myself as quite tech savvy so here is my problem

I want to build wireless network in my home and the equipment that i have are:

Linksys WRT54 G Router
3 Laptops with G wireless adapters
One Storage Computer in study with 2TB Harddive
One HTPC in Living Room
Linksys DMA 2100 media center extender in bedroom

I want to stream mkv movies to my htpc as well as media center extender.

I want to keep my budget as low as possible because I am student? preferably under 100$.

Should i get a router like dlink 628 for both my N and G devices or should i buy an N router and add my existing G router to setup a dual netwrok.
________
Live Sex

Last edited:
Keep the 11g router and buy an 11n router. Make the 11n primary and the 11g a secondary WAP. If you use a 11n router in mixed mode (operates in 11n and 11g mode at the same time), any 'N' clients will operate at 'G' speeds if the there are any 11g laptops connected to the 11n.

So buy a new 11n router and make it 11n only and keep the 11g router on a different channel (say 11) and on the same IP subnet - also do not plug a cable into the the 11g's WAN/Internet port. The ethernet cable should come from a LAN port on the 11n to a LAN port on the 11g to avoid double NAT issues, which will prevent SMB file sharing.