What's new

Optimizing Small Network Speeds

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Batspiderman17

New Around Here
Proud to announce my first post! I'm relatively new to building networks and I was hoping to get a little guidance from the experienced users on this forum. Thank you in advance for your help. My setup is below:

Router:
  • Belkin N600 DB (f9k1102 v1) (dual stream, dual band, with 100 Mbps ports)
  • Security: WPA2 (AES)
  • Wireless channel set to auto on both bands
  • Extension channel set to 4 on 2.4 GHz band and set to 40 on 5 GHz band
  • 20/40 MHz: set to Auto on both 2.4 and 5 GHz bands
  • Stock firmware 1.00.10
Desktop:
  • HP Media Center m7167c
  • Windows XP Media Edition 2002 SP3
  • 10/100 Ethernet wired to router
  • 2 external USB 2.0 (High-speed) HDDs (permanently shared to network via mountvol)
  • Norton Internet Security 2011
Laptop:
  • Sony VAIO FW-490
  • Windows Vista Home Premium SP2
  • Intel Wifi Link 5100 AGN (dual band, 1x2 stream)
  • With my laptop ~5 feet away from the router, Windows states that I have 5 bars and 150 Mbps connection.
  • Norton Internet Security 2011

I turned off all other devices using the router (android phones, other laptops).

When I run LanSpeedTest v3.4 on my laptop and connect to a shared folder on my external HDD connected to my desktop, my upload/download is ~35 Mbps for both on the 2.4 GHz band and ~45 Mbps upload and ~22 Mbps download on the 5 GHz band.

My initial reaction is that this seems low. After looking into bottlenecks, I believe my desktop's ethernet card/Router's is the weak link. While I'm not naive to expect 100 Mbps, I was expecting more than ~33% of the theoretical bandwidth.

My questions:
  1. Is this expected behavior?