What's new

SoftEther (now GPL) as VPN Server via Entware or built in

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Ka Hooli

Occasional Visitor
Hi,

I'm not a software developer, but I've just noticed that SoftEther VPN Server has gone Open Source (see here) just over a week ago.

This VPN Server product allows computers and smartphones to securely connect to a VPN network without any additional software installed on them.

I've put a message on their forum and the Entware ticketing site for the idea of someone developing it into an Entware package.

While I would be happy with it being an Entware package, an idea I had is how much better would the AsusWRT router be if SoftEther was to replace the built in VPN server packages?

As I said, not a software developer, just done scripting and minor programming in the past, but I do hope someone at least makes it into a working Entware package. Also, just thought I'd put the idea up here to get the word out.

I see zero reason to put this directly in the firmware. OpenVPN is proven, actively developed, and widely supported, while I never even heard about this one before.

Thought it was a long shot to replace the current offering as the built-in VPN Server :)

The 1st link in my OP has a table on it that compares the features of SoftEther to OpenVPN.

I've been using it for years, but have fallen back to OpenVPN as that's what is built-in to the router. I still use SoftEther for other sites. But if it was available as Entware, I'd rather use that at my site.

Those features do look impressive. I don't currently use or need VPN but this does look like something to be aware of.

Especially the potential speeds it offers (does it do that over OpenVPN too?).