What's new

Time machine disk not found

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Megahurtz

Occasional Visitor
I've been running Time Machine for many many months using a USB drive attached to my GT-AX6000 to back up to. After not using my computer much lately, I recently discovered that no backups had occurred for the past two weeks. I thought that might have been because I didn't use my computer during that time, but when I tried to manually initiate a backup it failed to connect to the disk.

I have restarted both my computer and router multiple times. Turned Time Machine off/on in the router settings multiple times. I tried removing the TM disk from my computer's settings intending to re-add it, but now it can't even discover the disk. I tried to add it to a different MacBook and that also couldn't find the disk.

Here is what I see when TM starts up on the router:

Code:
rc_service: httpd 2969:notify_rc restart_timemachine
Jun 30 15:17:02 Timemachine: daemon is stopped
Jun 30 15:17:02 Timemachine: User select disk start TimeMachine
Jun 30 15:17:02 avahi-daemon[22262]: WARNING: No NSS support for mDNS detected, consider installing nss-mdns!
Jun 30 15:17:02 afpd[22270]: Couldn't open extension maping file /usr/etc/extmap.conf
Jun 30 15:17:02 afpd[22270]: Couldn't load extension -> type/creator mappings file "/usr/etc/extmap.conf"
Jun 30 15:17:02 cnid_metad[22273]: Couldn't open extension maping file /usr/etc/extmap.conf
Jun 30 15:17:02 cnid_metad[22273]: Couldn't load extension -> type/creator mappings file "/usr/etc/extmap.conf"
Jun 30 15:17:02 cnid_metad[22273]: CNID Server listening on localhost:4700
Jun 30 15:17:02 afpd[22270]: Netatalk AFP/TCP listening on 192.168.1.1:548
Jun 30 15:17:05 Timemachine: daemon is started