What's new

Upgrading WRT54GL+wl-520gu with WRT400N+WET610N

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

bigpow

Occasional Visitor
I've been running this setup for a few years, both WRT54GL & wl-520gu run DD-WRT. WRT54GL as wifi-router, LAN: file server & WAN: DSL (upstairs) and wl-520gu as wifi-bridge, LAN: HTPC, Xbox360, PS3 (downstairs).

The distance between these two devices isn't very far, but because of upstairs vs downstairs, I had some problem getting decent signal strength even at 802.11g level.
I fixed this problem by boosting the Tx power level on both devices and by adding homemade antenna reflector. With this, I can have constant 20Mbps across the network.

Now that I'm planning to get HD players like WDTV2, I'm looking to go 802.11n and the 5GHz band.
On top of that, I'm also going to get a dedicated homeserver, connected to the wifi-router, and plan to store all my media files there.

I understand that the WET610N only has one 10/100 LAN port, but from reading briefly, I heard people have been able to add a switch to the port.

I already tested, and with my current "almost" constant throughput of 20Mbps 802.11g network, I was able to stream 720p contents just fine. 1080p, on the otherhand, was quite unsuccessful.

I was hoping that by moving up to 5GHz, I'd solve the bandwidth issue for streaming. However, I've doubts about my distance issue, again, from reading around, looks like going to 802.11n and 5GHz, the range is actually shorter than the 802.11g?

Please provide some clarifications. Also, any suggestions and ideas would be highly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.