What's new

WAN to LAN Subnet Linking?

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

rljames

Regular Contributor
What is the best AC66U option method for "linking" 2 subnets?

The first subnet (192.168.1.x) is auto DHCP on router LAN & Wireless, the second subnet (192.168.2.x) is auto DHCP on ADSL modem LAN ports. The two devices are hard-wired via "Auto IP" WAN router to modem LAN 1 port.

So, for example, I have a Linux box connected to the modem that needs to reach a wired printer and wireless client on the router. As currently configured, all modem and router connections can access the internet as needed - Now I'd like to make all devices available to one another.

Thanks,
Bob

LukeRich -

Thanks for the reply.

First, I'm NOT an expert so I hope I'm using correct terminology.

The ADSL is a dLink 2540B w/4 LAN ports, w/1 dedicated to AC66U WAN. Chose this device because it seemed best available at the time to replace old Cisco 677 struck by lightning.

Your suggestion for ADSL in "bridge" mode is exactly how I had things configured previously w/dLink and AC66U. However, I've just "upgraded" ISP speed service and Provider (Frontier) technical support indicates that "new" DSL connection does NOT support bridge mode. PPPoE only.

AC66U LAN ports are fully (Sonos, NAS, Printer, Desktop PC) occupied. So I'd like to use the extra 3 dLink ADSL LAN ports for additional hard-wired (TV, Linux PC, other) connections. For instance, it would be useful to allow Printer access from Linux box. Or save files from Linux to NAS. Etc...

I noticed the "Dual WAN" option under current AC66U Merlin firmware that doesn't seem documented in Manual provided with router. Is this feature applicable to my subnet linking goals?

Thanks again,
Bob