What's new

Confused about switching to wireless

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

C

Centuri1

Currently I have a network that uses a Netgear 8 port wired Router to service 7 systems. I then have a Linksys WAP connected to that router to service a number of laptops that we have.

The problem is that our DSL supplier's service is not all that great; so I've recently brought in a 5 mbs cable modem with the thought of upgrading to their 16 mbs when it's available in my area. The modem serves a single system through the LAN port. I've found the the Cable modem to much faster and more responsive than the DSL system that I've been using for about 6 years, so the thought is to go to cable alone.

Several of my newer systems have 10/100/1000 LAN capability and I plan on upgrading most all of the remaining wired systems to motherboards that have this capability. I can't do much about the laptops throughput except reduce the traffic time on the desktop wireless systems by having the newer systems use less of the bandwidth because of faster speeds.

I've read the excellent article about setting up a wireless system but I'm not sure of where to go from here. I would like to take advantage of the speed of the cable modem (especially when considering the increase in speed that is being projected).

My questions are:
1. What wireless router will serve best for the situation I've described. I know that the "N" versions are preliminary but I wouldn't mind experimenting with this if it's worth while to do so.