What's new

Looking for cheapest router /w Fastest WIRED Speed and most reliable WIFI

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Telos

New Around Here
Essentially, I have been shopping for a few hours and I am stuck and mostly hesitant by the negative reviews en mass concerning most modern routers. I have been using a Linksys WRT53GS for many years now with no problems whatsoever. The thing has been a tank as I have never, not once, been disconnected from it, either wired or wireless, and it always provides reliable speeds. The only drawback is the wireless range is very limited, but that is something I can live with as I at least get a stable signal from anywhere in the house/garage.

Recently, I upgraded to Charter's Ultra 100 service, which is 100 Mbps down, and 5 Mbps up. My current router cannot handle the new speeds, as it maxes out at 30 Mbps wired and like 12 Mbps wireless. I get 101 Mbps down and 6 Mbps up if I connect into the modem directly, so my issue is with the router.

Essentially I am looking for something preferably less than $70 (will consider more expensive models that offer reliable quality), that can give me at least a wired download speed of 90 Mbps, and guarantee a reliable/stable connection for both wired and wireless.