What's new

Looking for help regarding my Xbox1 Wifi

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

rmb43

Occasional Visitor
Yes, yes I know, you are probably expecting something along the lines of "My router is in the basement and my xbox is on the third floor and i can't play online games. PLEASE HELP". However, my situation is a little more complex/different.

I've been playing online via wifi on my Xbox 360 for a few months now problem free (no noticeable lag, no wireless interference, etc). I recently purchased an Xbox One, and when connected via wifi I am experiencing lag in the same game (Gears 3 with backward compatibility in the form of; teleporting, character skipping forward, shots not registering etc.

When i run the "Detailed Network Stats" on the Xbox, everything looks great; 6.5mb download, 1.5mb upload, 0% packet loss, 150ms ping (I live in Germany and everything I have read says that test pings servers near Seattle), and 100% signal strength. Not the fastest speeds out there obviously, but it is the advertised ISP speeds. Now, the router and modem are in the next room, but I strung some long ethernet cords just to test and when hard wired to the router, the download, upload, and ping are all the same but the lag is completely gone and the game plays great.

My NAT is open, ports are forwarded, and the console has a static IP.

Tests I've already done:
-Tried both 2.4ghz and 5ghz with the same results
-Tried 2 different routers with the same results (Asus AC66U and ISP provide modem/router combo Speedport w724v)
-Tried placing the router in the same room only several feet away, same result
-Tried turning off UPnP, setting up a DMZ, and port forwarding (separately) with no change
-Tried hard restarting the xbox