What's new

Need advice on best configuration

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

bigmjh

New Around Here
Hi - I'm fairly new to networking ... know the basics ... and I recently received one of the new FiOS G1100 Quantum Gateway routers. I'm trying to get a better WIFI signal throughout the house. Below I've posted a picture of my current configuration and two possible new ones using the G1100.

My office PC is wired directly into the current FiOS router (MI424WR) and I have a 125' run of CAT5 to connect to other equipment in the family room vis a 4 port switch. I also have a Cisco E4200 router providing the WIFI at that end of the house.

My question - what's the best use of / configuration that will maximize the WIFI coverage? I have shown two possibilities on the diagram below ... but I'm open to any and all suggestions. Thanks.
WIFI PLAN3.jpg

Maximize "coverage" or maximize speeds and throughput?

If it's only coverage you're concerned about, then so long as you have whatever is sitting in your family room set up as an AP, you should get decent coverage there.

If you're interested in highest speeds and throughput, then you'd be well served (IMHO) to get rid of the MI24WR completely (it's an Actiontec 802.11g, and clearly is obsolete if you have any 802.11n or ac devices (e.g., modern smartphones, tablets, newer laptops, etc.).