What's new

One small router for my network...

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Ankareth

New Around Here
..one giant leap for my network knowledge!

Hi guys, italian networking noob here.

I have a fairly decent IT backgound, but as it regards networks... I am lost.
Still, I understand that the modem-router given by my ISP (Telecom Italia, for a FTTC 100/20 connection) is at best suffucated by its hideous firmware.
Proof is that after a random time (usually a few hours, but sometimes 10s of minutes) the LAN part just stops working at all, but if I connet to the internet with a PPPoE connection made from windows I can browse without any issues.

So, right now my options are:

a) I keep the ISP router (a modified technicolor Modem Telecom AG plus VDNT-S ) and fight once more with the assistance hoping to get a new one that works;
b) I keep the router but using it just as a modem and get a proper router of my own;
c) I ditch the ISP router and get a new VDSL router.

Problem is that the ISP's VoIP works only on its own router (the credentials and whatsoever needed are hidden from the final user), so option c is ruled out. I really don't want to go through the assistance again, so I'll go for B)

And that's what and why I'm asking here (long intro, sorry!):

Since I have to upgrade, I want to do it properly: instad of another off-the-shelf box I would like to do it myself, maybe going a little overkill and start doing some services on my own, like DNS server, firewall, etc.
I tried to educate myself but I get a bit lost, so if I'm right i have the following options:

1) Give up and buy a SOHO router like a mikrotik, ubiquiti, draytek , DD-WRT or OpenWRT router and make do with it.