What's new

Wireless or Homeplug HDTV is wanted for my home, what do you suggest?

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

C

carygott

My home is wired with Coax cable and I cannot rewire it for the signals required for HDTV from a single source (Directv HD) to 4 HD TVs. All TVs watch exactly the same program.

What system or equipment can anyone suggest?

My home is wired with Coax cable and I cannot rewire it for the signals required for HDTV from a single source (Directv HD) to 4 HD TVs. All TVs watch exactly the same program.

I'm no expert on DirectTV (I live in Canada personally), but I'm under the impression that DirectTV is the same as all other digital TV services, and you need one of their boxes on each one of the TV's on your household in order for it work on that TV. You can have as many boxes as you need, but you do need one for each TV.

Typically, you have the cable coming out of the demarcation piont in your home (from the cable company) and going into a splitter of some kind. From the splitter, it goes to each room in your home that's wired. In each room, you have a DirectTV box hooked up to a TV set. I don't know much about DirectTV personally, but I'm assuming it's no different than most Digital TV and Satellite providers. This being the case, you need to go buy more direct TV boxes. No re-wiring should be necessary. You may need to buy a splitter, but it sounds like you already have one.

D-Link and Netgear have announced retail MoCA devices you could use for this application. Four of these will cost you ~$450. HomePlug AV is another good choice and costs roughly the same as the MoCA solution. For this application, I would likely choose one of those over WiFi.