What's new

Wireless Setup at School

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

S

stewysb119

I am a middle school teacher who has been put in charge of setting up the school's wireless system. They chose me out of "Hey you can do it" mentality.

I have a simple DGL-4300 Router at my home that I have set up and have working fine, so they guess I think I can handle this task.

We have huge amounts of bandwidth coming into the school. My latest speedtest had us at 75000kbps ( I have hit 90k with no one on in the evening). The school is set up in Pod buildings. I have roughly $500 per pod to spend per pod.

The requirements are that I have support to connect as many as 35 Macbooks and MacBook Pro's simultaneously per pod (as many as 250 could be connected school wide if all the school's laptops were all connected at the same time). All of the systems are brand new. The District gives us a 26 digit password that we MUST use to secure the wireless system.

2 Questions:

1) Should I have one very high power wireless system for the whole school, or set up smaller routers in every pod to maximize performance?

2) What hardware do I look at, and where do I buy it?

Any help with this project would be greatly appreciated.

Typically, you don't see most places impliment a single, 'big and powerful' wireless system or device - you tend to see a distribution of smaller access points across the campus. They do make some bigger systems, but they tend to be expensive and/or proprietary. You can buy better antennae for most access points though, if there's areas where a single AP needs to provide better coverage.